Jock Tindale Memorial Award

The Jock Tindale Memorial Award was created in 1998 by the Ontario General Contractors Association to honour an individual in the industry who has demonstrated a high standard of ethics and integrity in dealings with industry participants. The award is dedicated to the memory of John William (Jock) Tindale, who passed away suddenly on October 6, 1997 in London, Ontario. Jock was on the OGCA Board of Directors from 1983 to 1996, and was Chairman in 1992 – 93. He was also active in the London & District Construction Association, the Labour Relations Bureau, and the Construction Safety Association of Ontario. Because of his involvement with these associations, and his commitment to high standards in the industry, Jock was respected by his peers.


Individuals must have been in a senior management capacity in the industry for at least ten (10) years. The individual is to be known for a high standard of ethics and integrity in dealings with owners, consultants, other contractors, subcontractors and fellow employees.

Involvement in local, provincial, or national construction association, or community service (service club, school, church, charitable institution, etc.) will be considered.

The Selection Committee may vary these criteria in special circumstances.

Nominations will be accepted from contractors, subcontractors, owners and consultants.

The nominated candidate may be asked to provide a list of references (owners, consultants, subcontractors) with whom he / she has worked for at least 10 years.

Please click here to download the Nomination Form for 2024.  The form must be submitted no later than Friday, July 19th, 2024, and sent to


Previous Winners

  • Oliver J. Gaffney – 1998
  • Glen L. Morley – 1999
  • Curtis W. Washer – 2000
  • Ronald M. Elliott, Sr. – 2001
  • Christopher Fillingham – 2002
  • Paul Schmalz – 2003
  • Brian Foote – 2004
  • Joseph Keyes – 2006
  • Tom Dool – 2007
  • Thomas Sullivan – 2008
  • Don Chutter – 2009
  • Roy Timms – 2010
  • Geoff Smith – 2011
  • Paul Cocker – 2013
  • Bill Currie – 2016
  • Michael Atkinson – 2017
  • R. Bruce Reynolds – 2018
  • Glenn Ackerley – 2019
  • Harold Reinders – 2021
  • Robert Zehr – 2022